



Application for Court Appointment Certification

Attorneys seeking certification to court appointment panels **must submit pages one (1) through four (4) of this Application to the Presiding Justice c/o the Superior Court Clerk's Office, 250 Benefit Street, Providence, RI 02903**. The information provided must demonstrate that the attorney has the required level of experience to qualify for court appointment in the type(s) of case(s) indicated below (see Executive Order 2025-02 on the Judiciary's website at www.courts.ri.gov).

A copy of the professional liability insurance policy declaration sheet from your policy **must** be enclosed with your application.

Rhode Island Bar Number:	
Name:	
Address:	Telephone Number:
	Email Address:

Panels

Check the court appointment panel for which you are seeking certification.

SUPERIOR COURT				
Indigent Defense Services	Providence/ Bristol County	Washington County	Kent County	Newport County
Extreme Risk Protection Order				
Sexual Violent Predator, Licht Judicial Complex				
Violation of Court Order for Payment of Fines, Costs, and/or Restitution				
Post-conviction Relief -Felony - Capital or Life Offense				
Post-conviction Relief - All Other Charge Types				
Courtrooms 5-D (Pre-arraignment Calendar), Providence/Bristol County and 9 (Daily Criminal Calendar), Providence/Bristol County				
Violation of Court Order for Payment of Fines, Costs, and/or Restitution				
Courtroom 14 (Fines, Costs, and/or Restitution Calendar), Licht Judicial Complex				

Civil Panels	Providence/ Bristol County	Washington County	Kent County	Newport County
Attorney Appointed Pursuant to Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (50 U.S.C. Ch. 50)				
Guardian Ad Litem – Partition Action				
Guardian Ad Litem – Personal Injury				
Guardian Ad Litem – Probate				
Commissioner for Real Estate				
Receiver/Trustee				
Title Attorney/Tax Case – Petition to Foreclose Equities of Redemption				

SUPERIOR AND DISTRICT COURTS				
Indigent Defense Services	Providence/ Bristol County	Washington County	Kent County	Newport County
Felony - Capital or Life Offense				
Felony - Less Than Capital or Life Offense				

General Requirements

The general requirements for an attorney to be certified or recertified to a court appointment panel(s) are as follows:

- 1. The attorney shall be a member of the Rhode Island Bar in good standing;
- 2. The attorney shall have in effect legal malpractice insurance in a minimum amount of \$100,000 per claim/\$300,000 aggregate with a carrier licensed to issue insurance policies in the State of Rhode Island and shall provide proof of the insurance;
- 3. In matters that may involve the handling and managing of funds, the attorney shall acquire bonding by a surety bond in an amount equal to the total funds being managed;
- 4. Only the certified attorney on a panel shall provide representation in the appointed case. The certified attorney may not send an associate or other attorney in the firm in the certified attorney's place to represent a party. The certified attorney, with the prior written permission of the defendant, may bill for an associate or other attorney in the firm to perform legal research and writing services in the appointed case; and
- 5. The certified attorney may be removed from a panel by the Chief Justice, Presiding Justice, or Chief Judge of each court if the attorney refuses to accept an appointment without good cause or fails to meet any of the general requirements listed above.

Admission to the Rhode Island Bar

- 1. Date of admission to the Rhode Island Bar: _____ (mm/dd/yyyy).
- 2. Number of years as a member of the Rhode Island Bar: ______.

Experience (if applicable)

If the panel(s) for which you are seeking certification requires certain experience in prior cases, list the case information below.

Case Number	Case/Defendant Name	Court	Case/Type/Charge	Disposition	Lead or Associate Attorney
1					
2					
3					
4					
5					

Mandatory Continuing Legal Education Requirement (MCLE) (if applicable)

If the panel(s) for which you are seeking certification requires the completion of certain MCLE credits in the previous MCLE reporting year, list the courses and the credit hours completed and required below.

1	
Credit hours completed:	Credit hours required:
Applicable panel(s):	
2	
Credit hours completed:	Credit hours required:
Applicable panel(s):	
3	
Credit hours completed:	Credit hours required:
Applicable panel(s):	

Signature of Applicant

Other Relevant Experience (if applicable)

Applicable panel(s):

Credit hours completed:

Credit hours completed: _____

If the panel(s) for which you are seeking certification requires any other prior experience or allows for the demonstration of other commensurate experience to the satisfaction of the appointing authority, describe such experience below.

Superior-88	(revised April	2025)
-------------	----------------	-------

Date

Credit hours required:

Credit hours required:

Applicable panel(s): 5.

4.

□ Approved

□ Denied

Signature of Presiding Justice

Date

Instructional Guide

Fees and Expenses

The rates of compensation to be paid by the Rhode Island Judiciary to court appointed attorneys shall not differentiate between in-court and out-of-court time spent by the attorney on a matter. In addition to the fees set forth below, attorneys shall be entitled to all reasonable expenses of litigation including cost of transcripts, expert witness fees, investigators' fees, and fees for service of subpoenas in those instances where subpoenas have not been served by court order without cost. Application for expert witness authorization may be made ex parte without notification to the Attorney General or other adverse parties. Notwithstanding, all witness travel and travel expenses must be approved by the judicial officer hearing the case in accordance with the applicable Rhode Island General Laws.

If a case requires an investigator and/or expert, the attorney shall first obtain a court order allowing the expense with a threshold amount not to exceed \$500.00 initially. If the investigator and/or expert expenses exceed the threshold amount, the attorney shall submit another court order approving any overage. When seeking reimbursement for the investigator and/or expert expenses, the attorney shall upload the court order(s) and investigator and/or expert invoice(s) with the attorney's timesheet when these expenses occur for submission.

The thresholds and flat fees set by this schedule shall apply to all time spent and all the hearings required in a particular case to reach adjudication and shall include all post-disposition efforts unless noted otherwise. In cases wherein the fees or expenses sought are less than the threshold, approval shall be automatic, and the attorney's payment status will be noted online in the Payment for Indigent Defense Services Portal.

Where the fees or expenses sought exceed the threshold in the Supreme Court, the attorney shall file a Motion to Exceed Threshold Payment (see forms on the Judiciary's website) and the Timesheet Exception Approval form (the Finance and Budget Office will email the document to the attorney upon request) with the Administrative Assistant to Chief Justice within thirty (30) days from disposition of the case, except for reimbursement for investigator and/or expert expenses. Final determination of payment shall be made by the Supreme Court in conference. Where the fees or expenses sought exceed the threshold in the Superior, Family, or District Courts, the trial justice or judge at disposition shall make a recommendation regarding the advisability of exceeding the threshold amount, but the final determination of payment shall be made by the Presiding Justice or the Chief Judge of the respective court.

The fee and expenses schedule shall be as follows:

SUPERIOR COURT		
Indigent Defense Services		
Extreme Risk Protection Order	\$112 per hour	\$3,733 threshold
Sexual Violent Predator	\$112 per hour	\$3,360 threshold
Post-conviction Relief - Felony - Capital or Life	\$112 per hour	\$8,400 threshold
Offense		
Post-conviction Relief - All Other Charge Types	\$112 per hour	\$8,400 threshold

Courtrooms 5-D (Pre-arraignment Calendar) and 9 (Daily Criminal		\$385/day - 9:00 a.m. to		
Calendar), Providence/Bristol County		12:30 p.m. and from		
		2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.		
Violation of Court Order for Payment of Fines, Costs,	\$60 per hour	\$3,000 threshold		
and/or Restitution	_			
Courtroom 14 (Fines, Costs, and/or Restitution Calenda	ar), Licht Judicial	\$280/day - 10:30 a.m. to		
Complex		12:30 p.m. and from		
		2:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m.		
Expenses		\$500 case maximum		
Civil Panels				
Attorney Appointed Pursuant to Servicemembers Civil Relief Act (50 U.S.C. Ch. 50) ¹				
Guardian Ad Litem - Partition Action				
Guardian Ad Litem - Personal Injury				
Guardian Ad Litem - Probate				
Commissioner for Real Estate				
Receiver/Trustee				
Title Attorney/Tax Case – Petition to Foreclose Equities of Redemption				

SUPERIOR AND DISTRICT COURTS				
Indigent Defense Services				
Felony - Capital or Life Offense	\$142 per hour	\$42,600 threshold		
Felony - Less Than Capital or Life Offense	\$112 per hour	\$12,444 threshold		
Misdemeanor	\$112 per hour	\$4,032 threshold		
Expenses		\$500 case maximum		

Request for Payment

All requests for payment for the indigent defense services panels shall be made online via the Payment for Indigent Defense Services Portal. Submission of payment online is mandatory. The accuracy and veracity of the information shall be attested to by the requesting attorney.

Attorneys seeking payment for court appointed cases shall submit such requests in the following instances:

- 1. No later than thirty (30) days after the representation has concluded and authorization has been granted, if required;
- 2. No later than thirty (30) days after a new attorney enters an appearance in the case;

¹ Attorneys appointed under this panel are viewed as serving in the capacity similar to a guardian ad litem. Fees and expenses should be assessed by the court in the same manner as those incurred by a court appointed guardian ad litem in civil cases. In those rare instances where payment is to be made by the Rhode Island Judiciary, the fee shall be \$112 per hour.

- 3. No later than thirty (30) days after the attorney's service is discontinued on the case; and
- 4. In cases where partial payment is permitted.

Requests for payment that are submitted after the above-mentioned time periods shall not be approved for payment.

Partial payment is permitted in three (3) instances. First, in the Family Court, requests for payment shall be submitted by the 30th of each month for services rendered. Second, in lengthy cases where the attorney has worked on the matter for more than one (1) year, the attorney may submit a timesheet for services rendered to date and is allowed to do so for each subsequent year or until final disposition. Third, in cases where a defendant fails to appear and a warrant has been issued, the attorney may submit a timesheet for partial payment six (6) months from the issuance date of the warrant.